Level Two – too much love, not enough story

Not a cover I would usually pick up, but I’m glad I did…

Level Two, by Lenore Appelhans, is the story of Felicia Ward, who died a while back. She’s currently in “Level Two” where you go to confront your past, before you can move on to Heaven or Hell. Or at least that was the original purpose of Level Two. Now it’s purpose is gone. You can now rent out your memories for other dead souls to watch, so they can live your experiences, and in turn you can rent other soul’s memories. This completely defeats the purpose of Level Two, as you’re not confronting your death, and so cannot move on to Heaven or Hell.

So Felicia is doing just that – Not moving on, perpetually looking back over memories of her life, especially memories of Neil, her boyfriend. Until one day that is, when Julian – a boy who was in her life for all of a few weeks, tore her life apart then left forever – shows up at her memory pod, and forces her to leave with him. He brings her to a group of rebellious angels, who are plotting against the Morati, the angels who run Level Two, because the Morati are stopping the souls from moving on, so that they can use their energy as fuel. The rebels want to return Level Two to its original purpose of helping souls to move on.

I kind of have mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, it has quite a good plot, and is actually very well written, especially for a flashback novel, which as we all know are often extremely confusing. However, even as love triangles go, this one was blown way out of proportion, and to be honest the actual plot was overshadowed by it. I’m of the opinion that the story itself would be a lot better if the love triangle was played down a bit, because the story actually is brilliant.

I felt certain scenes were very rushed. I wouldn’t have minded if the book was another hundred pages long, if it meant the author could have gone into more detail in certain scenes, or certain aspects of the story.

Overall, apart from the over-emphasised love triangle, I don’t have anything to complain about. I’d put Level Two at 3.5 stars.

3 thoughts on “Level Two – too much love, not enough story

  1. So, another book where love forgets about all the rest. It’s what I thought about Angel Fire. There is only so much love I can stand, especially when triangular.

  2. It sounds like a clever idea which I’d like to try, but I am getting a little tired of so many YA books where a love triangle takes over the plot! Thanks for the great review 🙂

  3. Ahhh poo. I was hoping that this book would be a bit better. I’m never a fan of love triangles so a big love triangle is no good for me. Thanks for the review!

Fill me in on what you thought!

