The Enchantress by Michael Scott

Warning, slight spoilers!

Five years ago, I was in a bookstore in an airport, when my mother recognised a book on the shelves. That book was “The Alchemyst” by Michael Scott. She said that it had received rave reviews, and that she would buy it for me. I accepted the book, not knowing what to think of it from the cover and the blurb.

It was amazing.

While on the plane, I finished the book. I was beside the Flamels, and the twins, as they fled from John Dee. I was present at Hekate’s death. I was awaked with Sophie.

Over the next few years, I devoured the new installments of the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel. I read the Magician, The Sorceress, The Necromancer and the Warlock, with equal fascination and excitement. And then, this previous Saturday morning, I finally purchased the last installment of the series, “The Enchantress”.

Part of me didn’t want to finish it. The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel were like a constant to me throughout the past five years. I eagerly awaited the release of each book. Their releases were quite regular, the latest book was released every May/June. I was always looking forward to the next book.

So basically, the release of “The Enchantress” was a very big deal to me. I did what I always did when the new book was released, and waited until I was going on holidays to read it. So the other day, I sat on a plane, and for the last time, I read a new Flamel book.

But I wasn’t sure if I actually wanted to read it. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to know what happened. I wasn’t sure if I wanted it to end. Well, I was definitely sure that I didn’t want it to end. But nevertheless, I dived into the Enchantress, and began to read. And what a read it was.

“The Enchantress” was amazing. Going into it, I had no idea what to expect. I had no clue what would happen in the end. But my gosh, what did happen was amazing. There were so many twists and turns throughout the course of this epic novel. And so many surprises.

First of all, the characters really blew me away. Just for the record, I was always a fan of Machiavelli. You may or may not believe that, but I honestly did. I still don’t know why I liked him, up to “The Warlock”, I just had a good feeling about him. I also had a good feeling about Virginia Dare. In the previous books, she was very independent, and could basically do whatever she wanted. I thought that was pretty admirable. Dee causes quite a stir in this book. The “definitely bad guy”, is now a “maybe good guy?”. His masters don’t take too kindly to him showing up in the past, and they *ahem* deal with it… But there are a few surprises there…

I never really figured out exactly what Pernelle was. I may have missed it, but I’m not sure if it was actually made clear, or if she was just a human, albeit an extraordinary one. Nicholas does what he always does. He does quite a lot throughout the book, but in my mind, he gets overshadowed by the other characters. That’s not necessarily the same with everyone (obviously), but in the last few books, I’ve started to notice it. Nicholas and Pernelle are in present day San francisco, along with present day Prometheus, Niten, Mars, Billy and Machiavelli among others. They try to protect the city from the horrors on Alcatraz, but Elders Quetzalcoatl and Bastet try to stop them. Needless to say, that leads to a rather interesting time.

And now for the twins. The twins are back together in “The Enchantress”, and they’ve stopped fighting. I guess hurtling back in time together really puts things in perspective. Sophie does what Sophie does. She figures things out in her usual, calm way. Josh does his fair share of thinking too,  and he also arrives at several conclusions. They both discover a lot more about their powers (About the strength of them). But are Isis and Osiris really their parents? And if they are, what does that mean? But if they’re not, are the twins in danger?

Scatach, St Germain, Joan of Arc, Palamedes and Shakespeare are also back in the past, and are planning to fight with the humans of that time, to overthrow the Elders, and sink Danu Talis. They meet up with past Hekate, past Mars, and past Prometheus to do so. We already saw their journey to the Yggdrasill (The Megaloden got a mention. My day was brightened). In “The Enchantress”, we see how they take the battle to the oppressors (Elders), and fight alongside the humans (and some surprising allies) to overthrow the Elders.

Perhaps the most mind-blowing aspect of “The Enchantress” is the ending. I can’t stress this enough, the ending of this book is amazing. I didn’t see it coming until a few pages before it happened. The whole “Josh thing” was just wow! That’s all I can say, wow… It was really surprising, but it ties up all the loose ends, and I don’t think there’s really anything that goes unexplained. Personally, I think it was a brilliant ending, to an amazing series.

“The Enchantress” marks the end of the series, but what a magical series it has been. I for one, want to thank Michael Scott, for the past five years. So thank you. Thank you for the magic.

4 thoughts on “The Enchantress by Michael Scott

Fill me in on what you thought!

