The first bookish post…

That’s right, books. When I started this blog, I had intended to post a good bit about books. Yet even the most well-meaning promises fail, so here we are a month and a half into the blog, and this is the first bookish post.

The main reason for this lack of bookish posts is my mocks. I haven’t been able to read a book for about a month, because I’ve had  to study. I was dying on the inside. But last night, when my parents and my brother left me to attend a quiz, I cracked. I couldn’t take it anymore! Reading is a HUGE part of my life, and I can’t go a month without reading. Even when I was at the Gaeltacht I couldn’t leave my books behind. I brought my kindle, and read it at night with a torch. For those of you who don’t know, the Gaeltacht is an Irish-speaking college, where English (the language) is forbidden. Basically it’s like a sleep away summer camp, where you have to speak and read Irish all the time. Total immersion or something like that. It helps you learn Irish.

But back to the books.

So yeah I cracked. I couldn’t not read anymore.

So I read. I stayed up half the night, and I read. I finished two books.

  1. “The Fear” by Charlie Higson.
  2. “Epic” by Conor Kostick.

“The Fear” was excellent, but I have a bone to pick with Charlie Higson. I won’t say who, but throughout the entire book, this was one of the main characters, and the reader (me) got very attached to this character. Then Higson thought it would be great to kill that character.

"The Fear" by Charlie Higson. Jacket image.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not an idiot. I know it’s a zombie book, and obviously there are going to be a fair few deaths. But this character? Really? Was that really necessary? I know I probably sound a tad bit rambly (if that is a word) right now, but I’m really annoyed at this! But it’s not just this character! No it is not. Higson does this all the time, kills off characters, that he’s just spent the last three hundred pages getting you attached to! Okay, rant over. 

But all in all, it was a very good book. It’s the third in the series. When I was reading it, I (for some reason) had it in my head that the series was a trilogy, so I was rushing trying to find out what happened at the end. In fact that was probably the only reason why I started reading, I wanted to find out what happens in the end. Do the kids survive? Do the grown-ups take over? Do they find the cure? Well if you care as much as I do (and boy do I care), you’re going to have to wait until the next book to find out. Or maybe there’s still more than one book left, I simply don’t know.

Okay, now that rant’s over too. Sorry about that, but I really do care.

So yeah, to summarise, it was an excellent book, and gets four out of five eyebrows up. Why eyebrows up? Because I’m pretty sure people do that when they’re being cynical. Please correct me if I’ve got that wrong.

The second book, “Epic” was not good. I finished it, but it wasn’t good. The storyline was too complicated, it was very hard to follow, and it kind of felt like Kostick forgot to add in a crucial plot element. There was just a bit too much going on. But that’s just my opinion. It’s been nominated for a TON of awards, so somebody obviously likes it. But with reference to a previous rant, I actually wouldn’t have minded if Kostick had killed of one of these main characters. They weren’t very developed, and they seemed rather two-dimensional.

All in all, not a very interesting read. I’m giving it two eyebrows up out of five.

 So that is the end of my first bookish post. What did you think?

So until next time just remember:

Don’t get too attached to characters who live in a zombie-infested London, and Jazz hands make everything better.

 

2 thoughts on “The first bookish post…

Fill me in on what you thought!

